ORWELL, Vt. —The American Revolution will return to the Mount Independence State Historic Site in Orwell on September 5 and 6 for the annual “Soldiers Atop the Mount” living history weekend. Reenactors with a passion for history will portray American and British soldiers. Visitors are invited to step back in time and experience the tent encampment, military tactics, camp life, colonial crafts, cooking, and more.
A highlight on Saturday is the Baldwin Trail walkabout from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm. Experts will be located at stations around the trail to talk with visitors, bringing to life the history that happened right there. Visitors can get a card stamped and win a small token if they visit all the stations.
Other offerings include military tactical and artillery demonstrations, weather permitting. On Sunday at 12:30 pm there will be the annual reading of the Declaration of Independence, for which the Mount is named. Site interpreter and historian Paul Andriscin offers illustrated talks both afternoons.
The soldier’s camp opens on Saturday at 10:00 am and closes on Sunday at 2:30 pm. Call for details. Admission is $6.00 for adults and free for children under 15, and includes the museum. Beverages and light snacks will be available for purchase in the museum shop. This event is one of many being held during September’s Vermont Archaeology Month.
About Mount Independence
American forces built Mount Independence in 1776 and 1777 to defend New England and Lake Champlain from the British enemy in Canada. On the night of July 5 and 6, 1777, the Northern Department of the American Army withdrew from Mount Independence and Fort Ticonderoga, as British Lt. Gen. John Burgoyne attempted to split New England off from the rest of the United States. Following the Battle of Hubbardton on July 7, the British and Germans occupied Mount Independence until November.
Mount Independence, a National Historic Landmark, is near the end of Mount Independence Road, six miles west of the intersection of Vermont Routes 22A and 73 in Orwell. It includes an air conditioned museum and nearly six miles of hiking trails. It is open daily through Columbus Day, 9:30 to 5:00. Call (802) 948-2000 for more information.